Project #14: Typography (Illustrator CS5)

Hello WordPress friends, it’s been a while! I had a job interview on Friday to work for a company building mobile applications and.. I got the job!! I am so stoked to get started!

For this project I decided to make a poster displaying a quote using different fonts. I sketched the text on some paper & took a picture:

(Yes, I really need to practice my printing skills haha.)

I used the “Live Trace” feature in Adobe Illustrator (thanks to Suzannah for telling me about this function!) to isolate each word and “Stroked” the paths with different brushes. I ended up replacing some text with Illustrator because I did not like the way the words “makes” and “you” turned out.

This is what I came up with:

It’s not the most amazing work I have ever done but I was on a limited time frame and I really wanted to make a blog post haha. The next one will be better I promise :)

Tagged , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Project #14: Typography (Illustrator CS5)

  1. Heather Tiger says:

    I really like this! I finally got my new computer and Corel Paintshop with it. I have to start playing around on it. I really enjoy your posts. Fun inspiration!

  2. I am very happy for you! Congrats on the new job! You are one step ahead of me…I haven’t tried Illustrator yet:( So when do you start your new job?

  3. Angelo says:

    Congrats on the new job! Indeed, do what makes you happy! Cheers!

  4. Sophy says:

    Congratulation on the new job! :D
    I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. You don’t have to pass it on if you don’t want to, but I think that your blog and your work is so inspiring that I wanted so share it with the world.
    http://sfillustration.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  5. […]  Practice makes perfect Not just photography, but also helpful tips and […]

Leave a Reply

